top of page
Adult Protective Services
At Any Age
Each year, many older adults and younger adults who are incapacitated are victims of mistreatment by family members, by caregivers and by others responsible for their well being.
Some Common Signs of Adult Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation are:
• Burns, welts, scratches, bruises, cuts
• Fractures, dislocations, sprains
• Restrained, tied to bed or chair
• Mistrust of others
• Unsanitary or unsafe housing
• Inappropriate or inadequate clothing
• Lacks needed supervision
• Untreated medical condition
• Lacks needed dentures, glasses, hearing
aids or medication
• Severe anxiety, fearfulness, depression
• Personal belongings are missing
• Property or savings are mismanaged
• Sudden change in will or power of attorney
• Unpaid bills
Report Suspected Abuse, Neglect, or Exploitation
Who Is Eligible for Adult Protective Services?
Adult Protective Services (APS) can offer help
to adults who are:
• 60 years of age or older; or
• Incapacitated and age 18 - 59
What Are Adult Protective Services?
The Code of Virginia mandates providing protective services to adults.
Adult Protective Services:
• Investigates reports that an adult is abused, neglected, or exploited or at risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation;
• Can arrange a wide variety of health, housing, social, and legal services to stop
the mistreatment and prevent further mistreatment; and
•Intervenes legally, when necessary, to provide protection to adults who are in emergency situations and who lack the capacity to consent to services.
APS also refers matters to licensing, regulatory, or legal authorities for administrative action or criminal investigation.
What Information Should be Reported to APS?
Give the name, age and address or location of the adult whom
you suspect is being abused, neglected or exploited.
Provide as much information about the abusive
situation as possible.
Will Anyone Know Who Reported?
name cannot be revealed unless the reporter gives
permission or the court orders that the name
be disclosed. Reports can also be made
anonymously. Reporters are immune from
civil and criminal liability
for making a good-faith report.
• Virginia law requires some people to report suspected abuse of adults to APS. These people are called MANDATED REPORTERS, and they must report suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation to APS immediately.
• The following is a partial list of mandated reporters:
nurses, doctors, and other health are professionals, funeral service providers, nursing home administrators, mental health providers, EMTs, law enforcement personnel, and individuals or organizations who provide services to seniors or incapacitated adults. Find out if you are a mandated reporter!
• Fines up to $1,000 may be imposed if a mandated reporter does not report as required.
• Employers of mandated reporters must notify their employees of their reporting responsibilities.
• An employer may not prohibit an employee from reporting directly to APS.
• Suspicious deaths must be reported to law enforcement and the medical examiner.
Report Suspected Abuse
Any person, including financial institutions, may report suspected abuse to APS. If you or someone you
know is being mistreated, contact your local department of social services and ask for an APS worker, or you may call the 24-hour, toll-free hotline at : (888) 832-3858
For more information or to report suspected abuse please contact:
Susan Bullion - Family Services Specialist - APS/Adult Services/Guardianship
276-773-2452 ext. 214
Cristin Montgomery - Family Services Specialist - APS/Adult Services/Screenings
276-773-2452 ext. 217
Kristy Puckett- Human Services Assistant - Screenings
276-773-2452 ext. 220
Click here to see some quick tips for avoiding scams:
And there are more resources online at:
bottom of page